

PRESS RELEASE

OREGON HOUSE DEMOCRATS

<u>For Immediate Release</u> July 7, 2019

For More Information, Contact: Aaron Fiedler: 503-986-1904 aaron.fiedler@oregonlegislature.gov

Oregon House Democrats Elect New Leader, Leadership Team

Rep. Barbara Smith Warner Elected House Majority Leader

SALEM – Fresh off a historic legislative session, the Oregon House Democratic Caucus elected its 2019-2020 leadership team, including new House Majority Leader Rep. Barbara Smith Warner (D-Portland).

"It is an honor to have been chosen to lead this diverse caucus into a new year and new legislative session," Majority Leader Smith Warner said. "I want to thank Jennifer Williamson for her leadership over the last four years. She has shepherded the caucus through historic sessions and historic elections. Oregon is, undoubtedly, a better place for her service."

"Nationally, Oregon has led the way in transformational policy change – and the session we just finished was no different. From the Student Success Act to paid family and medical leave insurance, I am proud of what we have done to build a better state for every Oregonian," Majority Leader Smith Warner added. "With our new leadership team in place, I look forward to continuing that incredible work into the future."

Majority Leader Smith Warner joined the Oregon House after being appointed in 2013. She represents House District 45 which includes parts of Northeast Portland, Maywood Park and Parkrose.

2019-2020 House Democratic Leadership Team

*NOTE: The positions of Speaker and Speaker Pro Tempore were not up for election.

Speaker of the House: Rep. Tina Kotek

Speaker Pro Tempore: Rep. Paul Holvey

House Majority Leader: Rep. Barbara Smith Warner

House Majority Whip: Rep. Rob Nosse

House Deputy Majority Whip: Rep. Julie Fahey

Assistant House Majority Leader: Rep. Karin Power

Assistant House Majority Leader: Rep. Andrea Salinas

Assistant House Majority Leader: Rep. Janeen Sollman

The co-chair of the Joint Committee on Ways and Means, Rep. Dan Rayfield (D-Corvallis), and chair of the House Committee on Revenue, Rep. Nancy Nathanson (D-Eugene), serve in exofficio leadership positions.

###